Special economic zones have a special legal status and provide various economic incentives to businesses in order to attract investments in the Russian Federation.

Special legal status territories:

  • special economic zones (SEZ)
  • industrial parks
  • advanced development territories (ADT)

Russian Investment Agency is ready to assist foreign investors in choosing special economic zones, industrial parks or territories of advanced development.

Special economic zones

Now there are 19 special economic zones scattered across Russia. The zones were established for the purpose the development and promotion of manufacturing sector, tourism/recreation, port and transportation infrastructure; manufacture of new products.

Industrial parks

An industrial park is a territorial research complex for hi-tech SMEs comprising customizable modules rented by innovation enterprises and a service system.

16 industrial parks were established in 13 regions of the Russian Federation in terms of the pertinent national program. The program’s budget amounted to 30,5 bln. Rubles from 2007 till October, 2014. Total revenue of 747 companies residing in the industrial park reached 32 bln. Rubles per annum.

Advanced development territories (ADTs)

Advanced development territories are meant for industrial modernization as well economic recovery to be driven by foreign investors granted certain tax preferences. According to the Federal legislation, the territories will retain their status for 70 years with possible extension.

The first three advanced development territories were created in the Far Eastern Federal Okrug (Komsomolsk (Khabarovsk Krai), Khabarovsk (Primorsky Krai), more ATDs are likely to appear in Irkutsk Oblast, Krasnoyarsk Krai, Zabaykalsky Krai and the Republic of Khakassia.

The Russian Investment Agency offers bespoke solutions for SEZs or ADTs creation and assistance in the approval of investment projects by the representatives of the Federal authorities.