The Russian Investment Agency is a member of the world Association of Investment Agencies (WAIPA), founded in 1995 in Geneva


Russia is a member of a number of international organizations and unions, including:
  • World Trade Organization (WTO) (since 2012)
  • BRICS (since foundation in 2009)
  • EU Customs Union (since 2010)
  • Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) (since 2015)
  • Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) (since 2001)
  • Asian Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) (since 1998)
  • Black Sea Economic Cooperation Organization (BSEC)
  • Hague Conference on Private International Law
  • World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
  • International Maritime Organization
  • World Tourism Organization
  • International Organization for Standardization
  • Council of Europe (since 1996)
  • Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) (since foundation in 1991)
The above international organizations and unions set business rules mandatory for their member-states, accepted and understood worldwide and favorable for the activities of foreign investors.

WTO-membership ensures equal and transparent conditions to all the Russian and overseas market players as well as settlement of commercial disputes using international mechanics.

EEU brings together Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Armenia, and Kirgizia. The Union’s members have a single customs territory where no customs duties or economic limitations are applied, except for special, protective, anti-dumping and countervailing measures.

BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China & South Africa) member-states are marked by fast-growing economies, their economic potential being so significate that they are reported to become dominating economic systems by 2050.

The Eurasian Economic Union includes Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Kirgizia. Vietnam is to join the Union soon as well as Tajikistan, Syria, Egypt and Tunisia. EEU ensures free flow of goods, services, capital, labor and the unified and coordinated economic policy.

Asian Pacific Economic Cooperation is a forum for 21 Pacific Rim member economies that promotes free trade throughout the Asia-Pacific region, investment facilitation and liberalization. The purpose of APEC is to facilitate the economic growth and prosperity of the region.

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) consists of China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Kirgizia, Uzbekistan, India and Pakistan. SCO aims at supporting the efforts of its member-states in safeguarding the five countries' national independence and security as well as in the development of economic cooperation, energy partnership and cultural and scientific cooperation.

Black Sea Economic Cooperation Organization (BSEC) brings together 12 countries of the Black Sea Region and the South Balkans, namely Russia, Azerbaijan, Albania, Armenia, Bulgaria, Greece, Georgia, Moldavia, Rumania, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine.